Sahitya Akademi Award Winners 2023

Sahitya Akademi Award Winners 2023: Sahitya Akademi has recently revealed the recipients of its annual awards in 24 languages for the year 2023. Among the distinguished winners are 9 poets, 6 novelists, 5 short story writers, 3 essayists, and 1 literary scholar, all recognized for their outstanding contributions to literature.

These literary honors pertain to books first published in the five years preceding the award year, encompassing the period from January 1, 2017, to December 31, 2021.

The award, presented in the form of a casket, includes an intricately engraved copper plaque, a shawl, and a monetary prize of Rs. 1,00,000/- for each recipient. This ceremony not only acknowledges the creative brilliance of the awardees but also serves as a platform to celebrate and foster the diverse linguistic and literary traditions across India.

Sahitya Akademi Award Winners ListThe Sahitya Akademi Award, established in 1954 by the Sahitya Akademi, India’s National Academy of Letters, stands as a prestigious literary honor in the country. This annual recognition is bestowed upon writers who have produced exceptional works of literary merit in one of the 22 languages listed in the 8th Schedule of the Indian constitution, as well as in English and Rajasthani.

Since its inception, the Sahitya Akademi Award has played a pivotal role in acknowledging and promoting excellence in Indian literature. The award, initially set at Rs. 5,000, has seen increments over the years, reaching Rs. 1,00,000 in 2009. This financial enhancement reflects the commitment to valuing and supporting the literary endeavors of the awardees.

The inaugural awards were presented in 1955, marking the beginning of a tradition that has continued to shape the landscape of Indian literature. The selection process for the awardees takes place annually, with the assessment considering works published in the preceding twelve months. This meticulous process ensures that the most outstanding literary contributions are acknowledged.

The Sahitya Akademi Award serves a dual purpose. Firstly, it aims to recognize and honor exceptional literary works across the diverse linguistic landscape of India. Secondly, the award plays a crucial role in identifying and appreciating emerging trends in Indian literature. By doing so, the Sahitya Akademi actively contributes to the growth and evolution of the literary arts in the country.

The Sahitya Akademi Award plaque, a symbol of literary accomplishment, was designed by the renowned Indian filmmaker Satyajit Ray. The design carries with it the essence of creativity and the cinematic flair of its creator. This plaque, a testament to the artistic collaboration between literature and cinema, has become an iconic representation of literary achievement.

List of Sahitya Akademi Award Winners 2023

Language Book Title Genre Author
Assamese Dr. Pranavjyoti Dekar Srestha Galpa Short Stories Pranavjyoti Deka
Bengali Jaler Upar Pani Novel Swapnamay  Chakrabarti
Bodo Jiu-Safarni Dakhwn Short Stories Nandeswar Daimari
Dogri Daun Sadiyan Ek Seer Poetry-Ghazal Vijay Verma
English Requiem in Raga Janki Novel Neelum Saran Gour
Gujarati Sairandhree Epic Poetry Vinod Joshi
Hindi Mujhe Pahachaano Novel Sanjeev
Kannada Mahabharatha  Anusandhanada Bharathayatre Essays Lakshmisha Tolpadi
Kashmiri Yeth Waweh Halay Tsong Kous Zalay Poetry Manshoor Banihali
Konkani Varsal Short Stories Prakash S. Parienkar
Maithili Bodha Sanketan Essays Basukinath Jha
Malayalam Malayala Novelinte Deshakalangal Literary Study E.V. Ramakrishnan
Manipuri Yachangba Nang Hallo Poetry Sorokkhaibam Gambhini
Marathi Ringan Novel Krushnat Khot
Nepali Nepali Loksahitya Ra Loksanskritiko Parichaya Essays Judhabir Rana
Odia Aprastuta Mrutyu Poetry Ashutosh Parida
Punjabi Mann Di Chip Poetry Swarnjit Savi
Rajasthani Palakati Preet Poetry Gaje Singh Rajpurohit
Sanskrit Shunye Meghganam Poetry Arun Ranjan Mishra
Santali Jaba Baha Short Stories Taraceen Baskey (Turia Chand Baskey)
Sindhi Hathu Pakidijain Poetry-Ghazal Vinod Asudani
Tamil Neervazhi Paduvum Novel Rajasekaran (Devibharathi)
Telugu Rameshwaram Kaakulu Marikonni Kathalu Short Stories T. Patanjali Sastry
Urdu Rajdev Ki Amrai Novel Sadiqua Nawab Saher