K. J. Yesudas National Award Winning Songs List

K. J. Yesudas National Award Winning Songs List: K. J. Yesudas is one of the greatest singers of all time. K. J.  Yesudas made his debut into film music in 1961 through the Malayalam song ‘Jaathi Bhedam Matha Dwesham’ from the film Kalpadukal starring Prem Nazir, Prem Nawas, Ragini and others. This song was composed by M. B. Sreenivasan.

In a career spanning more than 5 decades, The legendary Singer has recorded more than Eighty Thousand songs in various  Indian and Foreign languages. K. J. Yesudas has received numerous awards and accolades for his achievements in the  fields of music. Government of India honored him by Nations highest civilian awards Padma Shri in 1975, Padma Bhushan in 2002, Padma Vibhushan in 2017.

K. J. Yesudas had won ‘National Film Award for Best Male Playback Singer’ record 8 times thus becoming the singer with the most awards in this category. The only singer close to him in this category is S. P. Balasubrahmanyam who had won 6 awards. In this post, we are going to take a look at the K. J. Yesudas National Award Winning Songs List.

K. J. Yesudas National Award Winning Songs List

1. Manushyan Mathangale Srishtichu: K. J. Yesudas won his first National Film Award [Silver Lotus Award] for Best Male Playback Singer in 1973 for this Malayalam song ‘Manushyan Mathangale Srishtichu’ from the 1972 movie Achanum Bappayum directed by legendary Malayalam director K. S. Sethumadhavan.

Achanum Bappayum featured K. P. Ummer,  Jayabharathi, Kottarakkara Sreedharan Nair, Adoor Bhasi, Baby Sumathi, and others. Achanum Bappayum is one of the important movies in Malayalam and it won the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration.

This song was composed by music director G. Devarajan and the lyrics were written by famous  lyricist Vayalar Ramavarma. The highlight of this song is its lyrics and rendition of K. J. Yesudas.

The song talks about the differences created by humans in the name of religion, How we divided not only the land but human mind and heart in the name of religion. This song fetched National Film Award for Best Lyrics for Vayalar Ramavarma. This evergreen song is still relevant in our world. Such a meaningful song.

2. Padmatheerthame Unaroo: Padmatheerthame Unaroo is Malayalam song from the 1973 movie Gayathri starring Raghavan, M.G. Soman, Jayabharathi, Adoor Bhasi, Shubha, Sankaradi and others. This film was written by Malayattoor Ramakrishnan and directed by P. N. Menon. This film won National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Malayalam.

Padmatheerthame Unaroo song fetched K. J. Yesudas his second consecutive ‘National Film Award for Best Male Playback Singer’ in 1974. This song was written Vayalar Ramavarma and composed by G. Devarajan. The trio of G. Devarajan + Vayalar Ramavarma + K. J. Yesudas once again created magic with this song.

3. Gori Tera Gaon Bada Pyara: K. J. Yesudas won his third ‘National Award for Best Male Playback Singer’ for this Hindi song ‘Gori Tera Gaon Bada Pyara’ from the 1976 Hindi movie ‘Chitchor’, directed by Basu Chatterjee based on a  Bengali story ‘Chittachakor’ by writer Subodh Ghosh.

This beautiful song was composed and written by the multi talented musician Ravindra Jain. Yesudas’s renditon in this song is just amazing.

4. Aakasa Desana Aashada Masaana: After winning ‘National Film Award for Best Male Playback Singer’ thrice in two different languages Malayalam and Hindi, K. J. Yesudas proved his mettle again by winning his fourth National Award for a Telugu song ‘Aakasa Desana Aashada Masaana’.

Aakasa Desana Aashada Masaana was a song from the 1982 Telugu film Meghasandesam, composed by music director Ramesh Naidu and written by Telugu lyricist Veturi Sundararama Murthy. Meghasandesam features Akkineni Nageswara Rao in his 200th film, Jayaprada, Jayasudha, and others. The film was directed by Dasari Narayana Rao. K. J. Yesudas once again proved that Language will never be a barrier for Him by beautifully rendering this song.

5. Unnikale Oru Kadha Parayam: After winning National Awards in Hindi and Telugu, K. J. Yesudas continued his winning streak by winning a ‘National Film Award for Best Male Playback Singer’ this time in Malayalam again. Unnikale Oru Kadha Parayam song was composed by Ouseppachan and lyrics were penned by Bichu Thirumala.

Unnikale Oru Kadha Parayam was a title song from the 1987 Malayalam movie of the same name, directed by Kamal. The film stars Mohanlal, Thilakan, Innocent, M. G. Soman, Valsala Menon, Karthika, Sukumari, and others.

6. Ramakatha Ganalayam: This Malayalam song from the Actor Mohanlal’s one of the best movie ‘Bharatham’, was composed by Music Maestro Raveendran Master in Shubhapantuvarali Raagam. The music of this film fetched Special Mention for Raveendran Master in 39th National Film Awards. K. J. Yesudas won his 6th ‘Best Male Playback Singer’ for this song in 39th National Film Awards.

This musical blockbuster film was written by A. K. Lohithadas and directed by Sibi Malayil featuring Mohanlal,
Urvashi, Nedumudi Venu, Lakshmi, Murali and others. ‘Ramakatha Ganalayam’ song was penned by noted Malayalam lyricist Kaithapram.

7. Ksheera Saagara & Other Songs: Sopanam is a 1993 Malayalam movie directed by Jayaraj starring Manoj K. Jayan, J. V. Somayajulu, Chippy, Oduvil Unnikrishnan, Kaviyoor Ponnamma, Sankaradi, and others. The movie is about a singer who loves his teacher’s daughter.

The songs of this musical film were composed by S. P. Venkatesh and lyrics were penned by Kaithapram. They also used the works of Carnatic music legends and poets like Tyagaraja, Jayadeva, Swathi Thirunal, Lalita Dasar, and Syama Sastri. K. J. Yesudas sung nine songs in this film. K. J. Yesudas was awarded with ‘National Award for Best Male Playback Singer’ for extraordinary rendition of all these songs in Sopanam.

8. Poy Maranja Kalam: Poy Maranja Kalam song from the 2017 Malayalam movie ‘Viswasapoorvam Mansoor’ is indeed a very  special song. This song fetched ‘National Award for Best Male Playback Singer’ for one of the greatest singer of all time ‘K. J. Yesudas’ for the record 8th time.

Poy Maranja Kalam song was composed by Ramesh Narayan and written by Premdas Guruvayoor. Viswasapoorvam Mansoor starred Roshan Mathew, Prayaga Martin, Asha Sarath, Zarina Wahab, and others.

K. J. Yesudas National Award Winning Songs List

Song Language Movie Year
Manushyan Mathangale Malayalam Achanum Bappayum 1973
Padmatheerthame Unaru Malayalam Gaayathri 1974
Gori Tera Gaon Bada Pyara Hindi Chitchor 1977
Aakasa Desana Aashada Telugu Meghasandesam 1983
Unnikale Oru Kadha Parayam Malayalam Unnikale Oru Kadha Parayam 1988
Ramakatha Ganalayam Malayalam Bharatham 1992
All Songs Malayalam Sopanam 1994
Poy Maranja Kalam Malayalam Viswasapoorvam Mansoor 2018

We wish that K. J. Yesudas sir will win  many more awards by singing songs in all languages and He will keep on entertaining us through his music and voice.

Serach Terms

yesudas national award songs, yesudas national award songs list , yesudas national award winning songs list, yesudas national award winning songs, k. j. yesudas, k. j. yesudas hindi songs, k. j. yesudas tamil hits, k. j. yesudas telugu hits, k. j. yesudas kannada songs, k. j. yesudas songs, k. j. yesudas ayyappa songs, k. j. yesudas kannada ayyappa songs, k. j. yesudas harivarasanam, national film award for best male playback singer, best singer national award 2019, yesudas son, best song national award, malayalam songs, malayalam films, malayalam singers