List of chief ministers of Meghalaya: Meghalaya is a state formed on 21 January 1972 by carving out two districts from the state of Assam: (a) the United Khasi Hills and Jaintia Hills and (b) the Garo Hills. Shillong is the capital of Meghalaya. Since 1970, twelve people have served as Chief Minister of Meghalaya.