List of Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh: Uttar Pradesh was established in 1950 after India had become a republic. prior to that it was a United Provinces (UP). On 26 January 1950 Govind Ballabh Pant, Premier of United Provinces, became the first Chief Minister of the newly renamed Uttar Pradesh. Out of 21 chief ministers