Current Chief Ministers of Indian States

Current Chief Ministers of Indian States: India is having 28 states and 8 union territories. A chief minister is the head of government of each of the 28 states and 3 of the 8 union territories of Republic of India.

According to the Constitution of India, at the state-level, the governor is de jure head, but de facto executive authority rests with the chief minister. Following elections to the state legislative assembly, the governor usually invites the party (or coalition) with a majority of seats to form the state government.

The governor appoints the chief minister, whose council of ministers are collectively responsible to the assembly. Given they have the assembly’s confidence, the chief minister’s term is usually for a maximum of five years; there are no limits to the number of terms they can serve.

As of December 2023, Twelve incumbents belong to the Bharatiya Janata Party, three to the Indian National Congress and two to the Aam Aadmi Party. No other party has more than one chief minister in office.


1. Longest incumbency as CM: Naveen Patnaik [Odisha] – Serving since 5 March 2000 for 23 years, 282 days.
2. Served for the most terms as CM: Nitish Kumar [Bihar] – 8 Terms
3. Only woman CM: Mamata Banerjee [West Bengal]
4. Oldest Chief Minister: Pinarayi Vijayan [Kerala] – 78 Years of age
5. Youngest Chief Minister: Pema Khandu [Arunachal Pradesh] – 44 Years of age

Current Chief Ministers of Indian States

State Chief Minister Party
Andhra Pradesh YS Jagan Mohan Reddy Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party
Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu Bharatiya Janata Party
Assam Himanta Biswa Sarma Bharatiya Janata Party
Bihar Nitish Kumar Janata Dal (United)
Chhattisgarh Vishnu Deo Sai Bharatiya Janata Party
Delhi (NCT) Arvind Kejriwal Aam Aadmi Party
Goa Pramod Sawant Bharatiya Janata Party
Gujarat Bhupendra Patel Bharatiya Janata Party
Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar Bharatiya Janata Party
Himachal Pradesh Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu Indian National Congress
Jharkhand Hemant Soren Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
Karnataka Siddaramaiah Indian National Congress
Kerala Pinarayi Vijayan Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Madhya Pradesh Mohan Yadav Bharatiya Janata Party
Maharashtra Eknath Shinde Shiv Sena
Manipur N. Biren Singh Bharatiya Janata Party
Meghalaya Conrad Kongkal Sangma National People’s Party
Mizoram Lalduhoma Zoram People’s Movement
Nagaland Neiphiu Rio Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party
Odisha Naveen Patnaik Biju Janata Dal
Puducherry (UT) N. Rangaswamy All India N.R Congress
Punjab Bhagwant Singh Mann Aam Aadmi Party
Rajasthan Bhajan Lal Sharma Bharatiya Janata Party
Sikkim PS Golay Indian National Congress
Tamil Nadu M. K. Stalin Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Telangana A Revanth Reddy Indian National Congress
Tripura Dr. Manik Saha Bharatiya Janata Party
Uttar Pradesh Yogi Aditya Nath Bharatiya Janata Party
Uttarakhand Pushkar Singh Dhami Bharatiya Janata Party
West Bengal Mamata Banerjee All India Trinamool Congress